Thursday, January 21, 2016

Made You Up

Title: Made You Up

Author: Francesca Zappia

First Published: May 19th 2015

Series: Stand Alone

Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance, Mental Illness

Available As: Hardcover, paperback, ebook

Pages: 448

My Copy: eBook

My Rating: 9.5/10

Goodreads Summary
Reality, it turns out, is often not what you perceive it to be—sometimes, there really is someone out to get you. Made You Up tells the story of Alex, a high school senior unable to tell the difference between real life and delusion. This is a compelling and provoking literary debut that will appeal to fans of Wes Anderson, Silver Linings Playbook, and Liar.

Alex fights a daily battle to figure out the difference between reality and delusion. Armed with a take-no-prisoners attitude, her camera, a Magic 8-Ball, and her only ally (her little sister), Alex wages a war against her schizophrenia, determined to stay sane long enough to get into college. She’s pretty optimistic about her chances until classes begin, and she runs into Miles. Didn't she imagine him? Before she knows it, Alex is making friends, going to parties, falling in love, and experiencing all the usual rites of passage for teenagers. But Alex is used to being crazy. She’s not prepared for normal.

Funny, provoking, and ultimately moving, this debut novel featuring the quintessential unreliable narrator will have readers turning the pages and trying to figure out what is real and what is made up.

Sunday, January 17, 2016

Nearly Gone

Title: Nearly Gone

Author: Elle Cosimano

First Published: March 25th 2014

Series: Nearly Gone #1

Genre: YA, Mystery, Thriller

Available As: Hardcover, paperback, ebook

Pages: 386

My Copy: Physical copy

My Rating: 9/10

Goodreads Summary
He revved the engine and I held tight with both hands as the bike lurched forward, We zoomed down streets, leaning into the curves, wind whipping over me. I pressed into his back until all I could smell was the leather tang of his jacket, and all I could taste was the sweet thrill of flying away.

Keeping secrets is second nature to Nearly Boswell. Living in a trailer park outside Washington, DC, with a mom who works as an exotic dancer, she knows better than to share anything that would make her a target with her classmates. Only her best friends know about her obsession with the personal ads, and Nearly hasn't told anyone about the emotions she can taste when she brushes against someone's skin.

Then a serial killer goes on a murder spree and starts attacking students, leaving cryptic ads in the newspaper. Nearly might be the one person who can put all the clues together, and if she doesn't figure it out soon - she'll be next.

Big, dark, scary, and brilliantly plotted, Nearly Gone will leave you guessing until the very end. 

Tuesday, January 12, 2016

Carry On

Title: Carry On

Author: Rainbow Rowell

First Published: October 6th 2015

Series: Stand Alone

Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance

Available As: Hardcover, paperback, ebook

Pages: 522

My Copy: Physical copy

My Rating: 8/10

Goodreads Summary:

Simon Snow is the worst chosen one who’s ever been chosen.

That’s what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he’s probably right.

Half the time, Simon can’t even make his wand work, and the other half, he sets something on fire. His mentor’s avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there’s a magic-eating monster running around wearing Simon’s face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here—it’s their last year at the Watford School of Magicks, and Simon’s infuriating nemesis didn’t even bother to show up.

Carry On is a ghost story, a love story, a mystery and a melodrama. It has just as much kissing and talking as you’d expect from a Rainbow Rowell story—but far, far more monsters.

Monday, January 4, 2016

January TBR

January 2016, a time for new beginnings! And a time to read new books. So, what's on my TBR for January? Not much, since school's started again. :( But I will try to get to all these books!

1. Carry On by Rainbow Rowell. It's Simon Snow, and he's back! From what I read in Fangirl, it sounded a bit similar to Harry Potter, so I must find out...

2. Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas. Ah, Celaena Sardothien. Your life is painfully messed up. I wonder what will happen next, now that she can (sort of) manage her magic successfully.

3. Made You Up by Francesca Zappia. I've heard amazing reviews on this book and now I've decided to give it a try. Why not?

So, short TBR, but school is being annoying. Oh well. Hey, what are your TBRs? Have you read any of mine? Are they worth the read? :)