Thursday, December 31, 2015

2015 Wrap Up

It's the last day of 2015! Tomorrow, we will be 2016. Can you believe it? This year seems to have passed by so quickly...

So, this year, I managed to read 75 books. I thought I would be able to read a couple more, but I got a bit busy. Oops. Hey, who else thinks that the new Goodreads looks pretty cool? I think my favourite part is how they display the year in books.

My main genre of 2015 was Fantasy, followed by Contemporary. I wanted to read more Mystery, but I couldn't find many good books. But there's always next year, right? Which genres have you read the most in 2015?

This year has been amazing for me! I started blogging again after a few failed attempts in the past. But I can't say this year hasn't been successful. I've met a lot of new people and it's really been wonderful. I hope the next year will continue to be as great as this year was! Best wishes to all of you, and thanks for all the support you've shown! ❤ You are all amazing! :D

Wednesday, December 30, 2015

Heir of Fire

Title: Heir of Fire

Author: Sarah J. Maas

First Published: 2nd September 2014

Series: Throne of Glass #3

Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance

Available As: Hardcover, paperback, ebook

Pages: 562

My Copy: Ebook

My Rating: 7.5/10

Goodreads Summary:
Celaena Sardothien has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak—but at an unspeakable cost. Now she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth...a truth about her heritage that could change her life—and her future—forever.

Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. To defeat them, Celaena must find the strength to not only fight her inner demons but to battle the evil that is about to be unleashed.

The king's assassin takes on an even greater destiny and burns brighter than ever before in this follow-up to the New York Times bestselling Crown of Midnight

Tuesday, December 29, 2015

Top 10 Books of 2015

Now that 2015 is nearly coming to an end, I decided to look back and search for the top 10 books that I've read this year. But it's not in any particular order. Ready?

1. Winter by Marissa Meyer
2. The Rose Society by Marie Lu
3. Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs
4. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard
5. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
6. A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab
7. Half Wild by Sally Green
8. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
9. The Wicked Will Rise by Danielle Paige
10. There Will Be Lies by Nick Lake

I see a recurring theme... 9/10 of the books on the list can count as under the genre of Fantasy. Well, that is a fun genre to read!

What are your favourite books of 2015? Any of them on my list? :)

And now:

1. Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare
2. A Gathering of Shadows by V. E. Schwab
3. A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas
4. Half Lost by Sally Green
5. Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo
6. Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard
7. Stars Above by Marissa Meyer

As you can see, all of these are sequels to an already existing series :P Anyways, what are your anticipated reads of 2016?

Saturday, December 26, 2015

Merry Christmas!

Okay, I know this post is a bit late, so... forgive me :)

But to everyone out there, MERRY CHRISTMAS!!

I hope everyone had a great day! 

(Now 2015 is nearly ending... who is ready for that? I can't believe the year is almost over! Who's prepared for 2016?)

Wednesday, December 23, 2015

Crown of Midnight

Title: Crown of Midnight

Author: Sarah J. Maas

First Published: 27th August 2013

Series: Throne of Glass #2

Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance

Available As: Hardcover, paperback, ebook

Pages: 418

My Copy: Ebook

My Rating: 8.5/10

Goodreads Summary:
"A line that should never be crossed is about to be breached. 

It puts this entire castle in jeopardy—and the life of your friend." 

From the throne of glass rules a king with a fist of iron and a soul as black as pitch. Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become his Champion. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown. She hides her secret vigilantly; she knows that the man she serves is bent on evil.

Keeping up the deadly charade becomes increasingly difficult when Celaena realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. As she tries to untangle the mysteries buried deep within the glass castle, her closest relationships suffer. It seems no one is above questioning her allegiances—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart.

Then one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena's world shatters, she will be forced to give up the very thing most precious to her and decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie... and whom she is ultimately willing to fight for.

Saturday, December 19, 2015

A Court Of Thorns And Roses

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses

Author: Sarah J. Maas

First Published: 5th May 2015

Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1

Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance

Available As: Hardcover, paperback, ebook

Pages: 416

My Copy: Ebook

My Rating: 9/10

Goodreads Summary:
A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it... or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

Thursday, December 17, 2015

Mockingjay Part 2

I watched Mockinjay Part 2, weeks after the premiere!

I thought it was a pretty good movie. There were quite a lot of action scenes, especially on the battlefield. I remember in the cinema, it was deathly silent as the movie played - everyone was so focused on the movie. I didn't even hear people eating popcorn. 

I think the main reason why many people thought that the book was really boring, is because it focused on the rebellion. Most of the time, Katniss ran around shooting propos, so she was out of the action. In the movie, they tried to add some more action scenes just to get the adrenaline running. 

I think that the movie portrayed the book pretty well. There weren't many cliche/cheesy scenes (*cough cough Scorch Trials cough*) and they quoted the book (yay!) 

Now, November is going to be so empty! There is no more 'looking forward to the next Hunger Games movie', because it's over. *crying* But I hope they are more new movies to look forward to!

Saturday, December 12, 2015

The Rose Society

Title: The Rose Society

Author: Marie Lu

First Published: 19th October, 2015

Series: The Young Elites #2

Genre: YA, Fantasy

Available As: Hardcover, paperback, ebook

Pages: 395

My Copy: Ebook

My Rating: 9/10

Goodreads Summary:
Once upon a time, a girl had a father, a prince, a society of friends. Then they betrayed her, and she destroyed them all. 

Adelina Amouteru’s heart has suffered at the hands of both family and friends, turning her down the bitter path of revenge. Now known and feared as the White Wolf, she and her sister flee Kenettra to find other Young Elites in the hopes of building her own army of allies. Her goal: to strike down the Inquisition Axis, the white-cloaked soldiers who nearly killed her.

But Adelina is no heroine. Her powers, fed only by fear and hate, have started to grow beyond her control. She does not trust her newfound Elite friends. Teren Santoro, leader of the Inquisition, wants her dead. And her former friends, Raffaele and the Dagger Society, want to stop her thirst for vengeance. Adelina struggles to cling to the good within her. But how can someone be good, when her very existence depends on darkness?

Wednesday, December 9, 2015

Six of Crows

Title: Six of Crows

Author: Leigh Bardugo

First Published: September 29th, 2015

Series: Six of Crows #1

Genre: YA, Fantasy

Available As: Hardcover, paperback, ebook

Pages: 462

My Copy: Ebook

My Rating: 9/10

Goodreads Summary:
Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can't pull it off alone...

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can't walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Six dangerous outcasts. One impossible heist. Kaz's crew is the only thing that might stand between the world and destruction—if they don't kill each other first.

Monday, December 7, 2015

Winter TBR

Woah, is it winter so soon? I remember when I was writing my winter to-read list last year... Time does pass fast, does it not? :)

So... what is my Winter TBR?

1. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. Yes, I know this book was in my October TBR, but I seemed to have put if off for far too long. Reading amazing reviews from fellow bloggers, I have nudged it up the TBR pile!

2. The Rose Society by Marie Lu. I really want this book as a physical copy so I can admire it next to The Young Elites, so I'm currently waiting for the bookstore to start selling it. Plus, it looks really nice. Look! It's amazing :)

3. Red Rising by Pierce Brown. It seems really interesting and I'm wondering if it's worth the read. Have you read it before? I think it seems good, so I will be looking for this book soon...

4. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. I've read Throne of Glass, which I liked, but not enough to continue the series yet... sadly, but I think A Court of Thorns and Roses is promising. Maybe I'll end up liking it more than Throne of Glass? I guess we'll just have to wait and see.

What about you? Which books are you looking forwards to reading?