Thursday, February 23, 2017

The Girl with All the Gifts

Title: The Girl with All the Gifts

Author: M.R. Carey

First Published: June 19th 2014

Series: Stand alone

Genre: Fiction, Sci-Fi, Horror

Available As: Hardcover, paperback

Pages: 460

My Copy: Physical copy

My Overall Rating: 8.5/10

Goodreads Summary
Melanie is a very special girl. Dr. Caldwell calls her "our little genius."

Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant Parks keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don't like her. She jokes that she won't bite, but they don't laugh.

Melanie loves school. She loves learning about spelling and sums and the world outside the classroom and the children's cells. She tells her favorite teacher all the things she'll do when she grows up. Melanie doesn't know why this makes Miss Justineau look sad.

The Girl with All the Gifts is a sensational thriller, perfect for fans of Stephen King, Justin Cronin, and Neil Gaiman.

Friday, February 17, 2017

The Book Courtship Tag

I know I haven't been that active these past weeks, but Tasya @ The Literary Huntress nominated me to participate in this tag, so I decided to haul myself to my laptop and post! :) Thanks Tasya for nominating me! Also, you can count this as my super late Valentine's Day post :P

Phase 1 : Initial attraction | A book you bought because of the cover

Doesn't this say it all? I mean, look at the cover! It looks so amazing. I still haven't began to read it yet, but I can't wait to!

Phase 2 : First impressions | A book you bought because of the summary

I was immediately intrigued by the summary of Made You Up, because it would be the first book I've read of that genre. I ended up enjoying it very much and I hope you read it if you haven't already! 

Phase 3 : Sweet talk | A book with great writing

I must say All The Light We Cannot See wins this spot. Actually, I think most historical fiction has great writing (and is usually quite deep) but I love this book the most. 

Phase 4 : First date | A first book in a series that made you want to pick up the rest

It has to be Shadow and Bone, right? Leigh Bardugo's world building of the Grisha 'verse is just great. I love all the concepts and I'm still waiting for time to free up to read Crooked Kingdom. Oops. I didn't mean to push it that far down my TBR... 

Phase 5 : Late night phone calls | A book that kept you up all night

A Darker Shade Of Magic is one of my favourite fantasy books of all time, and when I first picked up ADSOF, I could't help but question myself why I took so long before buying it. The world building was amazing and I adore the idea of many Londons. Can I live in Red London? I can't wait for the A Conjuring of Light!

Phase 6 : Always on my mind | A book you can't stop thinking about

Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson should be here. I can't stop thinking about Melinda and how common her story actually is in our world now. It's a really good book and I devoured it in one sitting, even though the topic is a touchy and difficult one. 

Phase 7 : Getting physical | A book which feels nice

A book that feels nice? Then I guess I'd have to choose a book with a lot of fluff. Which is difficult to do since authors just like to play with our feelings with cliffhangers/plot twists and destroy our ships and OTPs :( but ok, I guess The Hidden Oracle (Trials of Apollo #1) was good enough because it had Solangelo in it! That is all I need, so thanks Rick :) Everything else in the book was angsty.

Phase 8 : Meeting the parents | A book you would recommend to your family and friends

My family and friends (sadly) don't always read the same genre of books I do, so if I were to recommend something, it would be The Five People You Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom, because I do love his books. They are all so sad yet comforting to read. 

Phase 9 : Thinking about the future | A book you will re-read a lot

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe is one of the few Contemporary books that I actually enjoy rereading over and over again.  I really like the developing relationship between Aristotle and Dante, and how they gain confidence, finally finding themselves and each other. Aww, so sweet :)

Phase 10 : Sharing the love | Whom do you tag?

I tag Caroline @ Just Another Bookish Blog and Laura @ Blue Eye Books but anyone can join in!